People with a Passion 


Trails Committee
2013 Committee Members: Jerry Rorie (Chair), Mark Withers, Lewis Bradley, Don Atwood, Bill Powers, Dewey Hayes, and Scott Lewis.

The Trails Committee secures funding and maintains almost 3 miles of walking trails along the North Fork of Little River.

Gardens Committee
2013 Committee Members: Connie McGahee (Chair), David Chiles, Susan Chiles, Lisa Selbe, Sherry Oatts, Matt Snorton, Kelly Jackson, Roxane Thomas, and Nancy Wall.

The Garden Committee seeks to maintain the gardens and the improve the grounds through the addition of beds and trees, with emphasis on native plant material. The committee organizes volunteer work days and utilizes the Christian County Jail inmates to maintain the grounds. Over 200 trees and shrubs have been planted on the property. Herb and butterfly gardens are maintained by volunteers and a new children's garden allows kids from nearby neighborhoods to plant and grow their own vegetables.

Curriculum Committee
2013 Committee Members: Tracey Williams (Chair), David Chiles, Janet Bravard, Maggie Selvidge, Charles Turner, Robin Charles, Paul Shanner, Don Ahart, William Turner, Arthur Dunn, and Greta Jones.

The Jeffers Bend Curriculum Committee, working in cooperation with the Pennyrile RC&D office, schedules days in the spring and fall in which schools have the opportunity to visit Jeffers Bend for on-site lessons on natural resources subjects. Since the first classes started attending in 2001, more than 6,800 students from over 100 schools have attended.

Buildings and Grounds Committee
2013 Committee Members: Mark Withers (Chair), Connie McGahee, Lewis Bradley, David Chiles, Terry Rudd, Harold Alexander, and Don Atwood.

Responsible for the many facilities and property improvements that make-up the grounds of Jeffers Bend.

  • Welcome Center and Museum
  • Laboratory Building
  • Small Two Story Building
  • The Pavilion
  • The Amphitheater
  • Canoe Access
  • Screen Berm

Publicity Committee-
2013 Committee Members: Robin Charles (Chair), Mark Withers, Matt Snorton, Charles Turner, Boyd Clark, Henrietta Kemp, Carmen Finley, Melissa Johnson, Leslie Fourqurean, and Emily Knight.

Budget and Gifts Committee
2013 Committee Members: Maggie Selvidge (Chair), Tracey Clark, Diane Croney-Turner, Terri Henderson, Charles Turner, Betty Lingenfelter, Robert Flick, Linda Wood, Don Atwood, and Roxane Thomas.

The Partners of Jeffers Bend
The partners that have and/or continue to make things happen at Jeffers' Bend include, but are not limited to the following:

Aaron McNeil CenterAltria, Inc.
Anderson, Marline and RochelleBoy ScoutsBreathitt Veterinary Center
Bradley, ParkerChiles, AndrewChiles, David and Susan
Christian County Board of EducationChristian County Conservation DistrictChristian County Fiscal Court
Christian County JailChurch of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day SaintsCity of Hopkinsville
Clark, Michael and TraceyDuncan, Graham and Mary AliceFish America Foundation
Gray, Mary AnnHall, JohnHamby, Judy

Harper, LauraHenderson, Don and TerriHiggins Insurance
Honorable Order of Kentucky ColonelsHopkinsville Community CollegeHopkinsville Electric System
Hopkinsville Optimist ClubHopkinsville Water Environment AuthorityJeffers, Roger
Jeffers Bend Steering CommitteeJennie Stuart Medical CenterJohnston, Rhonda
Kemp, HenriettaKentucky Division of ForestryKentucky Department for Local Government
Kentucky Division of WaterKentucky Geological SurveyKentucky Transportation Cabinet
La Petite Fleur Garden ClubLittle River Audubon SocietyLowe’s
McGee Pest ControlMunday, Bill and KayeMurray State University, Office of Regional Outreach
Newcomers ClubNorth Fork Little River CommitteeOwen, Lewis M., Lt. Col.
Pennyrile Allied Community ServicesPennyrile Area Development DistrictPennyrile Plumbing
Pennyrile RC&D CouncilPioneers, Inc. Pride, Inc.
Prunitsch, KarlRadford, WynnRotary Club of Hopkinsville
Rucker, Jim and GraceSaint Peter and Paul Catholic SchoolSivley, Mary Edith
Town and Country Garden ClubThomas, Dan and BettyTurner, Charles and Diane
University Heights Academy USDA – Natural Resource Conservation ServiceUSDA – Farm Service Agency
Vyhnal, Faye and RichardWal-Mart FoundationWal-Mart Store of Hopkinsville
West Kentucky Workforce Investment Board Western Kentucky University, Office of Regional Outreach Wilson, Mary M.
 Withers, Mark Wisby, Jim Wood, Linda